Castleton and Winnats Pass in the Peak District……………….

It was a glorious sunny morning today so I decided a little photographic trip out would be in order.

Image

I considered several places including the Yorkshire Dales, Lake District and the British Waterways Museum at Ellesmere Port (you may well ask?) but eventually decided I would visit a place I spent many happy weekends when my daughter was very young, namely, Castleton in the Peak District.

Image

I think it must be getting on for 20 years since I was last there so I was not sure what to expect in terms of changes.Fortunately, very little has changed and early on a Monday morning it had that quiet air of a small rural village.

DSC_0010

 

I decided to drive up through Winnats Pass to get a full view of Mam Tor (Mam Tor is a 517 m (1,696 ft.) hill near Castleton in the High Peak. Its name means “mother hill”, so-called because frequent landslips on its eastern face have resulted in a multitude of ‘mini-hills’ beneath it).

DSC_0016

 

Winnats Pass was bathed in sunlight and shadow as I drove up the steep incline and when I reached the top I gazed across to Mam Tor and there were already numerous people making their way to the top for the spectacular view across the high peak.

DSC_0044

 

After taking a considerable number of photographs I returned to Castleton for an excellent cappuccino and toasted teacake at a small café then spent a good half hour wandering around the narrow streets of the village and along the little stream that runs through the centre of the village.

Image

If you have never visited Castleton then put it on your list of “must visit” places because in addition to the places I have mentioned there is also the famous Blue John Cavern , Peveril Castle (above the village) and the infamous Devils Arse Cavern (there is an excellent concert by Richard Hawley on Youtube from this venue, I kid you not).

Image

A word of warning, weekends and bank holidays find the village flooded with visitors and it can be a nightmare to park so if possible go midweek.

This entry was posted in Industrial Heritage, Mam Tor, Peak District, Pennines, Photography, Tourism, Travel, Wildlife and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

