The top 10 film quotes of all time………………

“To infinity… and beyond” – the line uttered by Toy Story’s Buzz Lightyear – has triumphed over some of the most memorable movie classics to be named the best film quote of all time.

The space ranger’s catchphrase came top of a poll conducted by the Radio Times to find the nation’s favourite film quote.

"he's not the messiah, he's a very naughty boy"

“he’s not the messiah, he’s a very naughty boy”

1. “To infinity… and beyond.” Buzz Lightyear/Tim Allen in Toy Story (1995)

2. “You’re only supposed to blow the bloody doors off!” Charlie Croker/Michael Caine in The Italian Job (1969)

3. “Say hello to my little friend.” Tony Montana/Al Pacino in Scarface (1983)

4. “He’s not the Messiah. He’s a very naughty boy!” The mother of Brian/Terry Jones in Monty Python’s Life of Brian (1979)

5. “You’re gonna need a bigger boat.” Brody/Roy Scheider in Jaws (1975)

6. “Frankly, my dear, I don’t give a damn!” Rhett Butler/Clark Gable in Gone with the Wind (1939)

7. “Infamy, infamy, they’ve all got it in for me!” Julius Caesar/Kenneth Williams in Carry On Cleo (1964)

8. “All those moments will be lost in time… like tears in rain.” Roy Batty/Rutger Hauer in Blade Runner (1982)

9. “Nobody’s perfect.” Osgood Fielding III/Joe E Brown in Some Like It Hot (1959)

10. “We want the finest wines available to humanity. We want them here, and we want them now!” Withnail/Richard E Grant in Withnail & I (1987)

Of course there will be heated debates about this list and individual views will be influenced by age and viewing history of films. Having never seen Buzz Lightyear I am unable to make a judgement about this one.

My own personal favourites from the ablove list are “he’s not the messiah. he’s a very naught boy” which remains the best send up of religion I have ever seen and has stood the test of time. “You’re only supposed to blow the bloody doors off” shouted by Michael Caine in his cockney accent  followed closely by “inamy, infamy they have all got it in for me” screamed by Kenneth Williams in the greatest of the “Carry on” films.

I am a little surprised that the quote from Apocalypse Now “ah, I love the smell of napalm in the morning” has not made the list nor the catchphrase used by Oliver hardy in many of his films “thats another fine mess you have got me into Stanley” (addressed to his friend Stan Laurel).

I am still of the view that the funniest scene in Life of Brian is when Michael Palin says “I have a fwend in Rome by the name of Biggus Dickus” and several of the cast corpse, if you have never seen it then watch this:-

This entry was posted in Art and Sculpture, Church, Culture, Film, Humour, Politics and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The top 10 film quotes of all time………………

  1. Biz Psycho says:

    Ah Blade Runner. Best ever sic-fi film – every version of it

    Like

  2. mikethepsych says:

    Reblogged this on Mike the Psych's Blog and commented:
    Not sure I agree with all of these but a good effort!

    Like

  3. What, no “I’ll be back.” from Arnold. Frankly, my dear… he wasn’t all that great of a governor. : –Curt

    Like

  4. kindadukish says:

    Hi Curt. I think the Arnie quote seems to be the one that most people think is missing and I perhaps think that they are right.

    Like

Leave a Reply

