My Favourite Photographs of 2014

I have spent a good deal of time in the last year out and about photographing the countryside and various events. The Yorkshire Sculpture Park is a never-ending delight and I have spent many a happy hour wandering along the Huddersfield Narrow Canal between Wellhouse and Slaithwaite photographing different aspects of the canal.

Three "young tykes" get excited as the riders approach...........

Three “young tykes” get excited as the riders approach………..

I was doing a review of the photographs I have taken in the lat year to try to decide which was my favourite. Of course shots of the “white cathedral” in Vilnius, Lithuania were in there along with the “three crosses” in the same city.

Keep pedalling dad, the peloton is catching up..........

Keep pedalling dad, the peloton is catching up……….

The event of the year for me was the Tour de France coming to Yorkshire. Blessed with glorious weather for the two days the tour showed Yorkshire at its finest, and who will ever forget the riders ascending Buttertubs Pass and Holme Moss surrounded by thousands of cheering spectators.

So it was very difficult to choose a photograph but eventually I decided I had to choose two which epitomised my day at the race just outside of Skipton. They are not of the riders but shots of various spectators who created such an atmosphere that day…………

This entry was posted in Children, Culture, Cycling, Pennines, Photography, Tourism, UK Regions, Yorkshire and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

