Photographer or happy snapper?

Someone once asked George Bernard Shaw the famous writer “how do I become a writer” to which he replied “you start to write” Similarly I suppose the similar question posed to a professional photographer would be “you start to take photographs”

Wide eyed innocence.......

Wide eyed innocence…….

 

I have always had an interest in photography but it is only in the last two yearsor so that I have been able to devote more time to my hobby. The purchase of a Digital SLR a couple of years ago (Nikon D5100) moved me up from a “point and shoot” approach to a greater mastery and understanding of the technical aspects of taking photographs…………..or so I thought!

Huddersfield Narrow Canal at Slaithwaite

Huddersfield Narrow Canal at Slaithwaite

I started to use my new Nikon mainly on the automatic setting or on one of the other settings for specific kinds of shot e,g, landscapes and buildings but I had this feeling that I was not being a “real photographer” because of the limitations I was working under.

Bridge at Salford Quays

Bridge at Salford Quays

I decided to enrol on a 1 Day photography course held in Leeds with Going Digital (http://www.goingdigital.co.uk/photographycourses/yorkshire.php) and found it to be an excellent introduction to using a DSLR. The presenter was informal, enthusiastic and very supportive, just what I needed.

Le Tour comes to Yorkshire

Le Tour comes to Yorkshire

Since then, although I have occasionally used the manual settings on my camera, I still tend to revert to the automatic setting partly because the kind of shots I want e.g. clouds, sunlight etc. change very quickly and are “of the moment” shots.

Scene outside Vilnius Cathedral, Lithuania

Scene outside Vilnius Cathedral, Lithuania

So to a great extent I am still doing the point and shoot but getting decent results, as the photographs posted here would suggest, although I leave that to your judgement. Moreover, having iPhoto on my Mac enables me to tweak my photographs should they need it.

Winter sky over West Yorkshire

Winter sky over West Yorkshire

I think it is fair to say that when I see something that I want to photograph I want to do it there and then and not spend several minutes setting up the camera (perhaps I am joining the “instant gratification” generation). Perhaps this is my justification for not having the self-discipline to master the technical elements of the camera.

Sculpture outside the Bell Tower at Vilnius University.

Sculpture outside the Bell Tower at Vilnius University.

It is also fair to say that if I just point and shoot I could have spent much less on a camera than I did but I love the Nikon D5100 and recently bought a Pentax K50 as a “back up”……….that’s my excuse for the purchase anyway!

Autumn at Yorkshire Sculpture Park

Autumn at Yorkshire Sculpture Park

So, I am not sure how to classify myself other than an enthusiastic amateur taker of photographs but with aspirations……………….

This entry was posted in Art and Sculpture, brooding clouds, Children, Pennines, Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Photographer or happy snapper?

  1. Irene says:

    Hello, I would like to know if I could use your photo of YSP for a digital article. Your name will be mantioned, if you agree. Please let me know. Kind regards,
    Irene.

    Like

    • kindadukish says:

      Good Morning
      I am quite happy if you use my photo of YSP as long as it is attributed.
      Perhaps you would send me a link to your article once on line.
      Best wishes
      Terry
      PS Perhaps you would let me have a link your blog / website

      Like

      • Irene says:

        Many thanks Terry, I’ll send you the link if finally the website decide to publish my article (is not a personal site). The photo will have your attribution, of course :).
        Regards,
        Irene.

        Like

Leave a Reply

