Celebrating the rise of female orchestral conductors………………

11180333_10153873711511038_578080736610406112_n

The number of  female orchestral conductors continues to increase as male prejudices (and some female) continue to be challenged and only recently Marin Alsop was announced as conductor for the UK Last Night of the Proms 2015 .

So, how many can you identify? I will set you going by saying Marin Alsop is bottom right…….

This entry was posted in Cklassical music. Female Conductors, Prejudice and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Celebrating the rise of female orchestral conductors………………

  1. Mike says:

    Hello! Where did you get this great collage?

    Like

    • kindadukish says:

      Hi Mike
      In all honesty I can’t remember as I do quite a lot of research and reading about the lack of opportunities for female conductors (as you will gather from the various blogs I have done on this subject). I got it off the internet somewhere, and I think it may have been via Norman Lebrechts website “Slippeddisc”
      I will try and track it drown and if I find it I will drop you a line.
      Best wishes
      Terry

      Like

  2. kindadukish says:

    Hi Mike
    Here is the link to the article on Slippedisc: http://slippedisc.com/2015/05/women-on-the-podium-in-a-seattle-celebration/ where I got the collage from, hoopoe this is useful.
    I am now off to watch TV as there is a programme entitled Wynton Marsalis plays Blue Note, should be interesting.
    Best wishes
    Terry

    Like

Leave a Reply

