“Framing The Landscape”………….many people look but only a few see

I was on my way to Buxton in the Peak District this morning and decided to take the scenic route via Holme Moss to Glossop and then on to Buxton.

DSC_0003

I drove past the scenic Digley Dam reservoir before meeting the road that takes you over the top of Holme Moss with its fantastic views across both West and South Yorkshire, on a clear day you can see for over 50 miles.

The "frame"

The “frame”

As it was only about 8.20am there was little traffic and as I approached the summit car park i could see a large wagon parked up and a solitary workman digging some holes. I parked up to take some photographs although I have to say it was pretty overcast and not the best weather for landscape photography.

Framing the landscape........

Framing the landscape……..

As I was snapping away I could see the workman erecting what looked like a painters easel and I couldn’t for the life of me work out what he was doing. Curiosity got the better of me so I asked him what he was doing.

Close up..........

Close up……….

He said that he was erecting a metal picture frame looking out from the top of the hill over West Yorkshire so that people could create a picture for themselves. This was one of four installations throughout West Yorkshire and was part of a project called “Framing The Landscape” and this particular one was sponsored by the University of Huddersfield (in conjunction with the artist Ashley Jackson).

What a brilliant idea I commented and the workman agreed with me…………so if you are journeying across Hole Moss then take time out to view this wonderful piece of artwork.

This entry was posted in Art, Tourism, West Yorkshire and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Framing The Landscape”………….many people look but only a few see

  1. Steve says:

    What were you on? The frame was erected by a total of 4 men. Three from the University of Huddersfield and another man with a crane. The frame was bolted to concrete. Apart from the rest of your dream what else you say is mostly true. It was designed built and erected by the University of Huddersfield

    Like

    • kindadukish says:

      Well I arrived at the summit at approximately 8.30am and there was one man with a large wagon and he appeared to be finalising the position of the display. And unless the other three men you refer to had thrown themselves from the summit I could see no sign of them. I never realised that people from the University of Huddersfield (where I worked for some time several years ago) were as pedantic about “ownership” or “who had done what.” Suffice to say that I consider it an excellent piece of installation art and will no doubt be appreciated by all those who stop off at the summit of Holme Moss

      Like

Leave a Reply

