A quiet Sunday morning stroll………………..to Slaithwaite

One of the delights of living in West Yorkshire is that I get to drive a short distance to the Huddersfield Narrow Canal at the village of Wellhouse, park my car and then set off along the towpath of the canal toward Slaithwaite.

This morning, being one of blue skies and wispy clouds I did such a thing (obligatory camera in hand) and enjoyed the stillness and quiet of an early Sunday morning. I passed the occasional cyclist and a couple of joggers but otherwise peace and tranquillity.

For some reason the flora and fauna along the path side this year is in abundance, resplendent with colours of yellow, purple, green and white and at time quite breath-taking in their natural beauty (remember many of these plants would be considered weeds).

I noticed also that the blackberries were ripening very quickly, which according to my calculations is about two weeks ahead of schedule. But all the indications are that this year’s cop will be a bumper one.

After I arrived in Slaithwaite I took up residence in the Hand Made Bakery café to enjoy a latte and excellent “pan au raisin” bun. After about half an hour and an in-depth discussion about European cities with a group of people on my table I set off back on the return journey and it is fascinating that the same walk but in the opposite direction gives completely different perspective of the countryside.

Of course I was taking photographs all the way along my journey and below are some of the images I captured.

The canal walk at its most picturesque

The canal walk at its most picturesque

Lichen on dry stone wall

Lichen on dry stone wall

Yes, we have idiots in Yorkshire too!

Yes, we have idiots in Yorkshire too!

The fruit is ripening

The fruit is ripening

The old chimney at canal side

The old chimney at canal side

Canal side flora......

Canal side flora……

Deepest scarlet.......

Deepest scarlet…….

Rosehips

Rosehips

“On me ed son”……….

Stunning colour............

Stunning colour…………

This entry was posted in Canal, Colne Valley, Flora and fauna, Landscape, Pennine hills, Pennines, photographs, Photography, scenery, Tourism, West Yorkshire, Yorkshire and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A quiet Sunday morning stroll………………..to Slaithwaite

  1. info4u2bu says:

    Great pix. I particularly like the chimney by the canal.

    Like

  2. kindadukish says:

    Thank you, that is my favourite also……………you are a man of excellent taste

    Like

Leave a Reply

