Yorkshire Sculpture Park, October 2015

The weather forecast for today was very good, so I rose from my bed at 6.15am, breakfasted and then set out for the Yorkshire Sculpture Park at just after 8.00am.

I arrived about 40 minutes later, parked in the village then made my way down to the park along the lane that has wonderful views of Emley Moor and the towering TV mast.

My reason for going was to try and capture the changing colours of the trees but when I arrived I found that they had not “turned” as much as here in Huddersfield. So I decided to make the most of the glorious weather and took myself off to see the “poppy display” again.

Apparently, over 20,000 people visited the display in two days when it first opened and there was a steady stream of visitors as I made my way around the park.

I spent just over 2 hours wandering around the shoreline of the lake, taking in the view of the poppies hanging from the bridge, admiring the foliage of some magnificent trees and gazing in appreciation of the collection of sculptures dotted around the park. After an excellent cappuccino at the main Visitors Centre I wandered back through the park before making my way back to my car.

Below are some of the images I captured today, very random but hopefully capturing the spirit of the wonderful sculpture park.

The village cricket pitch early morning

The village cricket pitch early morning

And quiet flows the "Don"

And quiet flows the “Don”

Morning shadows

Morning shadows

Early morning light

Early morning light

Mushrooms for breakfast?

Mushrooms for breakfast?

Memories of childhood

Memories of childhood

Blood red rose

Blood red rose

A carpet of red

A carpet of red

Early morning stillness and reflections

Early morning stillness and reflections

A colour feast for the eye

A colour feast for the eye

Sculpture with a view

Sculpture with a view

This entry was posted in Art, Art and Sculpture, blue sky, Culture, Education, Landscape, Nature / Flowers, photograph, Photography, Sculpture Park, West Yorkshire and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

