Halloween sunrise………….a cornucopia of colours

The village I live in is on the outskirts of Huddersfield in West Yorkshire and perched on top of the Pennine Hills. In winter there are times I ask myself “what the hell prompted me to come and live here?”

IMGP5840

That is usually because we live above the “snow line” and at the first fall of snow our street becomes impassable (except for the idiots who don’t know it and usually end up crashing into a wall) and it becomes hard work simply walking to the local village because of the hills.

IMGP5832

Alternatively, there is a rainstorm coming down the valley from the west and it can make the place look very bleak and unforgiving, but then again the area was famous for its woollen industry and the damp atmosphere was critical to the production process.

IMGP5833

After all the doom and gloom I have painted there are the times when I realise why I like where I live so much, and this morning was one of them. Waking at the crack of dawn I looked out of the window and saw the wonderful colours of the “dawn sky” and not wanting to miss this dashed down stairs to grab my camera. Past experience has shown me that you have to move fast as the sky changes so quickly.

Anyway, I have posted three photographs taken between 6.35 and 6.40am.

This entry was posted in brooding clouds, Landscape, Pennine hills, Pennines, photographs, Photography, scenery, West Yorkshire and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Halloween sunrise………….a cornucopia of colours

  1. mikethepsych says:

    Beautiful and great photographs

    Like

Leave a Reply

