Dunham Massey………beautiful country park

Dunham Massey is a 300-acre park not far from Altrincham, and a short trip from Manchester, though as wildly removed from the metropolis as one could hope. Once home to the Earl of Stamford, it has been owned by the National Trust since 1976. Its main building, a Grade-I listed Georgian hall, houses a collection of Huguenot silver, rare wood carvings, and a selection of portraits by artists such as Sir Joshua Reynolds and William Beechey, as well as telling the story of the house itself – a tale of scandal, remittance men and bareback circus riding.

But it is in its grounds that one finds the true splendour of Dunham Massey. Inside the estate’s high brick walls, its gardens and parkland splay out around the main house, an array of architectural oddities, rare wildlife and ancient woodland.

It was to this wonderful park that I ventured last Saturday where I was closely supervised by my two-year old grandson. Despite it being mid-winter the trees are still majestic, wild life is plentiful, particularly the birds, but the thing I had come to see (and to show my grandson) was the deer in the park. Whilst walking along one of the paths we suddenly saw between 20 and 30 young deer running into the deer sanctuary, they all then stopped and began to feed.

Below are some of the photos I took which try to capture the beauty of this lovely country park, and I strongly recommend a visit if in the vicinity.

IMGP6360

IMGP6322

IMGP6400

IMGP6426

IMGP6412

IMGP6391

 

This entry was posted in Art and Sculpture, blue sky, History, Industrial Heritage, Landscape, Nature / Flowers, scenery and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Dunham Massey………beautiful country park

  1. I get Dunham Massey and Tatton confused. Which do you prefer?

    Like

  2. kindadukish says:

    I have only visited Dunham Massey and that is because my daughter has just moved into the area. I really like Dunham because of the wide open spaces, wildlife and good eating facilities. I plan to visit Tatton Park in the spring so will write a blog on my findings then.

    Like

  3. info4u2bu says:

    This is a favourite spot for my grandchildren who live not far away from the park. Nice photos which capture its essence

    Like

  4. Thom Hickey says:

    Thanks. Lovely sense of space and tranquility. I’ve enjoyed many posts here this year and look forward to regular visits in the new year. Regards Thom.

    Like

Leave a Reply

