Vilnius, a city like no other……..

Having not had an opportunity to visit Vilnius for well over 12 months I thought I would remind myself of what the city looks like in winter, and in particular when the snow falls. It still remains my favourite city in Europe and no one will ever convince me that the White Catherdal or to give it its full title Šv. Stanislovo ir Šv. Vladislovo
arkikatedra basilica, is not simply the most beautiful building in the world.

Having made around 30 visits to the city since 2006 (usually with my business colleague Mike) I have missed the beauty of the city, the warm friendship of friends and colleagues and equally important lack of access to “kibinais” (its a Cornish pastie but the Lithuanians claim it as one of their own).

So I hope you enjoy viewing the photographs as much as I enjoyed going through the hundreds I have taken in the last 9 years.

Unorthodox view of Šv. Kotrynos bažnyčia in winter

Unorthodox view of Šv. Kotrynos bažnyčia in winter

City park in deepest winter

City park in deepest winter

Statue of Grand Duke Gediminas in Cathedral Square

Statue of Grand Duke Gediminas in Cathedral Square

View of the cathedral

View of the cathedral

Hill of Three Crosses

Hill of Three Crosses

Cathedral Square by night

Cathedral Square by night

River Neris on a cold winters day

River Neris on a cold winters day

The clock tower, Cathedral Square

The clock tower, Cathedral Square

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Church, Culture, Lithuania, Vilnius and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Vilnius, a city like no other……..

  1. I agree with you about that white cathedral – wouldn’t look out of place in Venice.

    Like

  2. kindadukish says:

    I am hoping to return to Vilnius in February 2016 and no doubt will take several hundred more photographs of my favourite building. But I agree with you, it would not look out of place in Venice.

    Like

  3. mikethepsych says:

    You said it all. I miss my second home too. Can’t wait to get back as soon as my health allows it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

