Holme Moss circular tour…………

 

IMGP8219.JPGAnother beautiful day in West Yorkshire, blue skies and wispy white clouds but with a bracing breeze that meant it wasn’t T-shirt weather. I charged up the battery of my Pentax k50 and set out on a drive heading for Holme Moss, where the views across West Yorkshire on a  clear day can be spectacular.

IMGP8224.JPG

My first port of call on the journey was Digley Dam to photograph the reservoir set in the Pennine hills. It was early do very few people around except for a couple of “serious” walkers who appeared to be setting off for the day.

IMGP8251.JPG

Jumping back into my car I headed up the winding road to the top of Holme Moss, a road made famous as one of the challenging climbs on the 2014 Tour de France (1719 feet). There are still slogans painted on the road, one of which reads “Go Froomy” which I presume is encouragement to Chris Froome, now twice tour winner.

IMGP8247.JPG

I arrived at the small car park at the summit to find one other car parked up. Taking out my camera I took a number of shots in different directions and of course I couldn’t resist the shot through the artists frame positioned at the side of the car park. Although the sky was blue it was bitterly cold at the summit and I was glad I had put a big woollen jumper on.

IMGP8258.JPG

After completing my photographs I headed down back the road, passing a cyclist making his way up, as he looked at me as I passed, I think I saw a wry smile on his face and a nod of the head in acknowledgement to me. Anyone doing the Holme Moss climb deserves respect (and possibly psychiatric treatment!).

IMGP8254.JPG

A quick call into Holmfirth and a visit to the Longley Farm cafe for cappuccino and scone and a review of my photos. For those who don’t know, Longley Farm make the finest yogurt in the EU along with other milk / cream based products and are not often seen outside the local area, although I did hear a rumour that a supermarket in LANCASHIRE had started stocking them, apparently they are packaged as Bratwurst to ensure a smooth passage through the customs post at Ripponden Checkpoint Charlie.

IMGP8261.JPG

Whilst wandering around the town I came across a lovely little cheese shop called surprisingly The Cheese Shop* which had a fine selection of British and continental cheeses and a fine display of cheese boxes on the wall. I purchased a piece of Harrogate Blue,which is no doubt the finest blue cheese in the UK at the moment. I did try a piece of Yorkshire blue at the owners suggestion, but whilst it was good, it was not in the same class as the Harrogate Blue. I also encountered a beautiful wrought iron bench which had been designed to commemorate the visit of the Tour de France.

IMGP8262.JPG

I then made my way back to the car and a short drive home but with a short detour to acquire several bottles of wine. One has to do these things as one is never sure how the weather may change and we could be cut off for days up in the Pennines, that is my excuse and I am sticking to it.

IMGP8266.jpg

So if you want a nice drive out to take in spectacular views may I recommend a trip to the Holme Moss summit and if you are feeling adventurous continue along the road towards Glossop until you reach the reservoir and then swing left for a trip over the Woodhead Pass.

 

All photos (c) Kindadukish

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

