The Lake District……almost as beautiful as the Yorkshire Dales

On my most recent trip to the Lake District I was blessed with excellent weather which made my trip doubly enjoyable as I was able to photograph the area in all its splendour. I have visited the lakes several times previously and whilst impressed, I do not consider them to have the majestic beauty of the Yorkshire Dales.

During my 5 day visit to the area I visited Loweswater, Buttermere, Bassenthwaite, Thirlmere, Windermere and Ulleswater, all very individual and offering spectacular views across the lakes and the towering fells. It is understandable why the lake district is considered one of the UK beauty spots and also why it is so popular with walkers, climbers and those who just want to appreciate the wonders of the British countryside.

It also seems popular with our European neighbours as I bumped into people from the Netherlands and Germany and saw numerous vehicles with foreign number plates touring in the area, and leaving the EU I suspect, will make little or no difference in attracting foreign visitors to this area of outstanding beauty.

So it is the Lakes v the Dales…………..I think if pushed I would still choose the dales although I can fully appreciate the spectacular scenery of the lake district. I will no doubt return to both areas in the not too distant future.

Below are some images from my recent trip, so make up your own mind.

DSC_0293 (1).jpg

DSC_0229.jpg

DSC_0207.jpg

DSC_0314.jpg

DSC_0147.jpg

DSC_0222.jpg

DSC_0345.jpg

DSC_0352.jpg

 

DSC_0323.jpg

DSC_0581.jpg

DSC_0134.jpg

Photographs (c) Kindadukish 2016

 

This entry was posted in blue sky, brooding clouds, Eden valley, Flora and fauna, Landscape, North of England, Pennine hills, Pennines, Photography, Tourism and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

