Autumn Colours………wandering to Slaithwate

A mild day and the sun was was out, so a short walk from Wellhouse to Slaithwaite was in order this morning. So with camera in hand I set off along the muddy track alongside the narrow canal.

Because the weather has been relatively mild and no real winds (so far!) the leaves have stayed on the trees much longer and they have turned such exquisite colours that are a delight to the eye.

The canal water was so still that there were wonderful reflections of the trees which I like to try and capture. There is something very peaceful wandering along the canal, taking photographs until I arrived at the Handmade Bakery in Slaithwaite for a very welcome cappuccino.

The bakery was very full so I had to sit outside with my coffee, I asked the young lady who brought my coffee why were they so busy? She said that it had been a bit mad this week and she thinks it was because the bakery was featured in the Daily Telegraph magazine last weekend as one of the best in the North of England.

As I made my way back, I passed through the village centre and saw the Remembrance Day ceremony at the monument to the fallen, it seemed to be very well attended. So a pleasant Sunday morning stroll, which is both good exercise and the opportunity for me to indulge myself taking photographs, some of which I have included below.

IMGP2737.jpg

IMGP2754.jpg

IMGP2738.jpg

IMGP2765.jpg

IMGP2746.jpg

IMGP2828.jpg

IMGP2744.jpg

IMGP2812.jpg

IMGP2816.jpg

IMGP2815.jpg

Photographs (c) Kindadukish

Camera used was a Pentax K50 (18 – 250 Sigma lens)

This entry was posted in Canal, Colne Valley, Flora and fauna, Golcar, Industrial Heritage, Landscape, Nature / Flowers, Pennines, Salithwaite, West Yorkshire and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Autumn Colours………wandering to Slaithwate

  1. mikethepsych says:

    Excellent pix – as always

    Like

Leave a Reply

