Its Bluebell time at Hardcastle Crags

IMGP3480.jpg

I was up at 6.30 this morning and was greeted with a clear blue sky and the sun slowly rising in the East. I decided to make the most of the morning and set out for Hardcastle Crags at just after 8.00am.

I arrived at the car park just after 8.30. and commenced my walk along the river bank shortly afterwards and ended up at the old mill. As I was so early it was very quiet and peaceful but no doubt would be extremely busy later in the day with the weather being glorious.

I had visited the crags a couple of weeks ago hoping to photograph the bluebells but alas they had not flowered. This time was very different and the floor of the woods was a sea of blue, everywhere you looked there were bluebells. Interestingly the wild garlic had still not flowered except for a small patch near the mill and on the edge of the river.

I made my way up hill and down dale following the path of the river and was rewarded with stunning views of the bluebells and in particular one little walled field was spectacular.

The bluebells are at their peak at the moment but within just a few days they will be past their best, so I have been lucky with the timing of my visit. I noticed that on my return to the car I passed several men with cameras in hand, no doubt having the same thought as I had earlier today.

Below are just a few of the photographs I took this morning……………

IMGP3458.jpg

 

IMGP3476.jpg

IMGP3407.jpgIMGP3404.jpg

IMGP3489.jpg

IMGP3430.jpg

IMGP3540.jpg

IMGP3436.jpg

IMGP3529.jpg

IMGP3526.jpg

IMGP3556.jpg

IMGP3517.jpg

Photographs (c) Kindadukish 2017

 

This entry was posted in blue sky, bluebells, Hebden Bridge, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Its Bluebell time at Hardcastle Crags

  1. Ted says:

    Where I live we’ve had them for about two weeks. All over the place. Kind of like the Bluebells are trying to make up for years lost.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

