Willie and Julio……..the most unlikely combination!

Some years ago I developed an interest in “country music” (yes, I know it is treatable) and particularly artists such as Johnny Cash, Emmylou Harris, Dolly Parton and the inimitable Willie Nelson.

It was Nelson who really turned me on to country music with such songs as City of New Orleans, Always on My Mind, Seven Spanish Angels and the song that was to become one of his biggest hits, To All the Girls I’ve Loved Before (and my personal favourite).

When I first heard about the song I found out that Nelson had done a duet with probably the most unlikely singing partner you could think of, the Spanish singer / songwriter Julio Iglesias.

However, whoever came up with the idea of putting these two voices together, it was a stroke of genius. The down home simplicity of Nelsons voice alongside the heavily accented “crooner style” of Iglesias made one of the great recordings of the popular music genre.

Even now when I think of the combination of the two stars, I think “it shouldn’t work”………..but it does, and magnificently.

 

This entry was posted in Culture, Music, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Willie and Julio……..the most unlikely combination!

  1. mikethepsych says:

    Not bad but I prefer Crazy

    Like

Leave a Reply

