Elsa Armengou…………musical child prodigy

We have all heard about “child prodigies” particularly in the field of music, and it is fair to say that there is usually a fair amount of hype accompanying them (I am too tactful to name one or two classical musicians who may fall into this category)…………the next “Horowitz or Kreisler” are phrases banded around.

A little while ago I published a short blog about the Saint Andreu Jazz Band and was extolling the virtues of two young ladies who were multi instrumentalists, namely Eva Fernandez and Andrea Motis.

Since then I have been doing further research about the band, its leader Joan Chamorro and other featured soloists. During my research I came across a performance of Duke Ellington’s “Mood Indigo”(Ellington being the greatest Jazz musician of all time in my opinion) featuring a 7 year old young lady by the name of Elsa Armengeu.

As I started to watch the video all I could see was this tiny young girl stood at the front of the stage, and trumpet in hand and I feared the worst for a child of such a young age.

Four minutes later I picked my jaw up from the floor at what I had just heard, she was sensational and we have a jazz superstar in the making here. If she can play like this at 7 years of age (she also sings with the band) god knows what a prodigious talent she will be when she reaches her late teens.

So sit back and enjoy the muted trumpet playing of the lovely Elsa Armengou in Mood Indigo and then watch the video below with Elsa singing in front of the band, and she is so serious about it.

This entry was posted in Children, Classical Music, Culture, Jazz and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Elsa Armengou…………musical child prodigy

    • donb says:

      Double Wow!
      I had found this group of marvelous youngsters a couple of years ago (Andrea Motis, Eva Fernandez, Rita Payes, Magali Datzira, Elsa Armengou, and several others). They never cease to amaze me.

      Liked by 2 people

  1. John says:

    I want to hear mor of her. She is the most amazing musician I have ever heard.

    Like

    • kindadukish says:

      Try YouTube and search for Elsa doing a wonderful version of Billy Strayhorns “Lotus Blossom”………….one of Dukes signature tunes and the stunning performance by Duke on the last track of the album “And his mother called him Bill”

      Like

Leave a Reply

